Event Schedule


Friday, November 5, 2021

5:30 p.m. – Oneg Shabbat (refreshments before the service) 

6:15 p.m. – Shabbat Evening Service and Installation


The Installation Service will include:

Rabbi Jon Adland | Rabbi John H. Spitzer

Rabbi David M. Horowitz | Rabbi Stacy L. Schlein


Saturday, November 6, 2021

10:30 a.m. – Shabbat Morning Service

After the Service – Shabbat Bagel Brunch



 If you are not able to attend in person, please enjoy the livestream at






RSVPs requested by October 31



Rabbi David Komerofsky joined Temple Israel in July 2020. He was ordained by the Hebrew Union College – Jewish Institute of Religion (HUC-JIR) in Cincinnati in 1999, earned the Master of Arts degree at HUC-JIR in Los Angeles in 1997, and graduated from the University of Cincinnati in 1993.

David began his career at his alma mater seminary in Cincinnati immediately after ordination, eventually becoming dean of students and director of the rabbinical school. In 2006, he was recruited to Austin to become executive director of the Texas Hillel Foundation at the University of Texas. In 2013, he relocated to San Antonio and began working remotely for Hillel International and locally for a small Reform congregation.

He credits his childhood mentors Rabbi David M. Horowitz and Cantor Gedaliah Gertz z”l, as well as his active involvement in NFTY (North American Federation of Temple Youth), with his decision to become a rabbi.

Born and raised in Akron, David is married to Cleveland native Ronit Sherwin. Their blended family includes two sets of twins: Lainey Komerofsky is a student at the College of Charleston, and Gabe Komerofsky is a student at The University of Texas at Austin. Natan Sherwin and Batya Sherwin are in middle school.


Our Installation Guests


Rabbi David M. Horowitz was the spiritual leader of Temple Israel in Akron from 1983 to 2001, since which time he has been the congregation’s Rabbi Emeritus. A 1969 ordinee of Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion (HUC-JIR) in Cincinnati, Rabbi Horowitz served congregations in Indianapolis and Hammond, Indiana before coming to Akron and is a past national president of PFLAG (Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbians and Gays). He was the primary inspiration for David Komerofsky’s decision to become a rabbi.



Rabbi Stacy L. Schlein is Director of Educational Capacity Building at the Jewish Education Center of Cleveland. For fourteen years, she was a rabbi and educator at The Temple-Tifereth Israel in Cleveland. Rabbi Schlein was ordained at HUC-JIR in New York in 2001, and also earned the school’s Executive M.A. in Jewish Education. She and David Komerofsky met in NFTY and have been friends for more than thirty-five years.


Temple Israel Leadership


Executive Officers 2021-2022

John Spera, President

Jonathan Wilkof, Treasurer

Joan Ortman, Secretary

Shelley Schweitzer, Immediate Past President

Board of Trustees

David Adler (Brotherhood)

Courtney Johnson-Benson

Shelley Jurkiewicz

Denise Nielsen

Anita Porter

Stanlee Rosenblatt

Dr. Eileen Saltarelli

Barbara Spera (Sisterhood)

Suzanne Stieglitz

Mark Taylor

Judy Tenenbaum

Lifetime Trustees

Mark Atleson

Robert Friedman

Dr. Ronald Gelb

Bev Gross

Martin Jacobson


Rabbinic Search Committee


Shelley Schweitzer, Chair

Dr. Larry Cohen

Frank Fleischer

Shelley Jurkiewicz

Dr. Audrey Lavin

Dr. Michael London

Adam Luntz

Debby Petroff

Andrew Spera

Katie Wernow

Mark Tenenbaum, Ex-Officio